Bulalacao and Pinamalayan farmers among 2019 Provincial Rice Achievers Awardee

Josephine Dela Cruz of Pinamalayan (left) and Alma Nool of Bulalacao, 1st place winners of the 2019 PRAA for inbred and hybrid category respectively.

Farmer contenders from the municipality of Bulalacao and Pinamalayan seized the top prize of the 2019 Provincial Rice Achievers Award given by the Provincial Agriculturist’s Office in recognition of their outstanding performance as high yielding rice farmers. Mrs. Alma M. Nool of Brgy. Cambunang, Bulalacao won the first place for the hybrid category while Mrs. Josephine Dela Cruz of Panggulayan, Pinamalayan topped the inbred rice production category. Both farmers received a cash prize of P55,000.00 and plaque.

A total of 18 farmer contenders from different municipalities competed for 2019 PRAA. There were 10 entries for the hybrid category and 8 entries for the inbred category. Entries underwent a screening process beforebeing officially recognized as contenders and they were likewise endorsed by their respective Farmer Association’s and Municipal Agricultural Offices. PAgO’s Rice Program led by Mr.Venerando M. Sanchez, Jr., OIC Agro-Technology Resource Management Division; Engr. Jefte Bay-ongan, Provincial Rice Coordinator; and Ms. Sarah Alma Relox, Provincial Rice Report Officer spearheaded the PRAA 2019.

Mrs.Chenita L. Suarez of Sta. Rita, Pinamalayan and Mr. Felipe D. Perez of Malaya, Naujan wins 2nd and 3rd place respectively in the hybrid category. While Samuel Laudencia of Gen., Esco, Naujan and Mike Galang of Conrazon, Bansud bagged 2nd and 3rd place respectively for the inbred category. Each winner received 35,000.00php and 25,000.00php respectively. Consolation prizes of 7,000.00php was also awarded to the non-winning contenders. Extension workers and municipal agriculturists of the winning contenders also received cash incentives.

To give more opportunites for farmers to participate, PAgO affirms to include PRAA to its regular programs.